top of page
Audience in Lecture






President & Chief Executive Officer


TN Charter School Center


Maya M. Bugg has deep roots in the education sector – from beginning as a National Board certified classroom educator in NC to working with the US Department of Education as a policy consultant. Now, as the CEO of the TN Charter School Center (TCSC), her almost two decades of experience launching, scaling, and leading high-impact initiatives throughout the education sector have positioned her to lead charter school growth and success in Tennessee. Additionally, Maya is the creator of TCSC’s Community Launch Fellowship and the Board Leaders of Color Collaborative.

In previous roles, Maya was charged with overseeing strategic growth, financial stability, development, and partner acquisition. Under her leadership, she scaled the impact of each organization by steadily growing their programmatic footprint and markedly increasing partner investment throughout their geographies.

Additionally, as the founder of the Bugg Consulting Group, Maya has extensive experience leading strategic planning, executive coaching, and facilitation for myriad nonprofits and national for-profit companies. She has also participated in various prestigious fellowships, including Pahara-NextGen. Among many other recognitions, Maya was named a 40Under40 awardee and a Woman of Influence by the Nashville Business Journal. Maya serves on a number of local, state and national committees and boards. Maya earned a BA from UPenn, EdM from Harvard, and her EdD in leadership, policy & organizations from Vanderbilt University.

bottom of page