Audience in Lecture






Executive Director League of Innovative Schools


Digital Promise


Kimberly A. Smith is the Executive Director of the League of Innovative Schools and Center for Inclusive Innovation at Digital Promise where she leads a national network of forward-thinking education leaders in implementing innovative, effective technologies and practices designed to support student learning. Ms. Smith most recently developed the Inclusive Innovation initiative focused of advancing equity and excellence to create opportunities for marginalized students to thrive.

Prior to Digital Promise, Ms. Smith was the Chief Learning and Innovation Officer with the Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship (NFTE leading the innovation strategy for the global leader in youth entrepreneurship education. Prior to NFTE, Ms. Smith was Vice President of Education at PBS where she directed the digital education strategy, including launching a national public broadcasting PreK-12 digital curriculum service in partnership with school districts. Ms. Smith also served as Vice-President of Product Development for Discovery Education where she led the creation of a portfolio of broadband, services for K-12 schools, including Discovery Streaming and curriculum digital products. Prior to Discovery, Ms. Smith worked at the Annenberg/Corporation for Public Broadcasting Project where she was part of a team pioneering delivering college courses for credit at a distance through online and broadcast.

Ms. Smith is an Aspen-Pahara Institute fellow focused on education reform leadership and pioneering initiatives and co-founder of the National Charter Collaborative—an initiative to support single-site charter leaders of color in creating quality schools. She serves on the boards of Beacon House, Catalyst Ed, Education Board Partners and was formerly on the Black Alliance for Educational Options (BAEO) board and is the former Board Chair of the Arts and Technology Academy Public Charter School in Washington, DC. She received her M.B.A from Johns Hopkins University and her Bachelors of Science in Journalism from the University of Colorado at Boulder.