top of page




Pahara Announces New Class of Leaders for The Pahara Fellowship

(February 15, 2024) - The Pahara Institute announced today a new cohort of the highly selective Pahara Fellowship. These 24 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to strengthen and sustain values-driven leaders who are transforming public education so that every child is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life.

The Pahara Fellowship is a one-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public education, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The newest cohort of Pahara Fellows includes:

  • Shirley Appleman, Senior Advisor, Bellwether

  • Courtney Bell, Chief People Officer, KIPP Foundation

  • Maya Martin Cadogan, Executive Director, PAVE

  • Genevieve Cheng, Senior Chief of Staff to the President, IDEA Public Schools

  • Jared Chung, Executive Director,

  • Stephanie Devine, Executive Director, Teach For America Appalachia

  • Kahlmus Eatman, Chief Operating Officer, Pacific Charter School Development

  • Tatiana Epanchin, Co-Founder, Catalyst Public Schools

  • Emily Calderón Galdeano, Chief Impact and Strategy Officer, UP Partnership

  • Ashley Davis Gallimore, Chief Executive Officer, RePublic Schools

  • Shara Hegde, Chief Executive Officer, Alpha Public Schools

  • Rafiq Kalam Id-Din II, Founder and Managing Partner, Ember Charter Schools for Mindful Education, Innovation and Transformation

  • Kristina Kyles-Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Lillie May Carroll Jackson Charter School

  • Alaina Chipman Leeks, Founder and Executive Director, Atlanta Unbound Academy

  • Chase McLaurin, Superintendent, Lucée Français de la Nouvelle-Orléans

  • Robert Medina, Director, English Learner Program, Sobrato Philanthropies

  • Chris Minnich, President, NWEA

  • Sara Morrison, Executive Director, Tennessee State Board of Education

  • Patrick O'Donnell, Chief Executive Officer, Making Waves Education Foundation

  • Gabrielle Ramos-Solomon, Chief of Staff, Robin Hood Foundation

  • Geoff Roehm, Founder and Executive Director, Launch Expeditionary Learning Charter School

  • Chad Rountree, Chief Executive Officer, Propel America

  • Rashad Turner, Chief Executive Officer and President, Minnesota Parent Union

  • Rich Vazquez, Senior Vice President, Pahara Institute

To access bios and photos of the Pahara Fellows, click here.

For more information please contact

About the Pahara Institute

The Pahara Institute seeks to strengthen the movement for educational excellence and equity by developing and sustaining values-driven leaders. The guiding principle of the Pahara Institute is that bold improvements are needed in our public schools so that every child in America is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life. Pahara’s programs are designed to identify leaders in education innovation, and through a time-tested dialogue approach, strengthen and sustain their efforts to bring about critical improvements to our public schools. For more information, please visit


bottom of page