top of page




Pahara Announces New Class of Leaders for The Pahara Fellowship

(December 15, 2022) - The Pahara Institute announced today a new cohort of the highly selective Pahara Fellowship. These 24 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to strengthen and sustain values-driven leaders who are transforming public education so that every child is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life.

The Pahara Fellowship is a one-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public education, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The December 2022 Pahara Fellows are:

  • Amber Arellano, Executive Director, Education Trust - Midwest

  • Cara Candal, Policy Managing Director, ExcelinEd

  • John Carwell, Jr., Education Associate, Delaware Department of Education

  • Eve Colavito, Co-Chief Executive Officer, DREAM

  • Keniq Coney, Chief Schools Officer, The Seed Foundation

  • Oscar E. Cruz, Chief Executive Officer, Citizen Schools

  • Daniel Foley, Senior Vice President, Enterprise Planning, City Year Inc.

  • Miguel Gonzalez, Executive Director, Great Work, Inc.

  • Andy Johnson, Executive Director, Sage International Network of Schools

  • Patrick Jones, Senior Vice President of Leadership and Equity, The Mind Trust

  • Charmayne Joseph, Interim Chief of Middle Schools, Achievement First

  • Scott Laband, President, Colorado Succeeds

  • Mabel Lajes-Guiteras, Vice President, Charter Schools Growth Fund

  • Kat Ling, Chief Executive Officer, Moonshot Edventures

  • Anne Zummo Malone, Chief of Growth and Impact, AppleTree Institute for Education Innovation

  • Makeda Mays Green, Senior Vice President, Nickelodeon Digital and Cultural Consumer Insights, Paramount

  • Arthur Mills IV, Chief Operating Officer, America's Promise Alliance

  • Beth Purvis, Senior Program Director, Kern Family Foundation

  • Lisa Maria Rhodes, Founder, ALAS

  • Jon Rybka, Chief Executive Officer, Republic Schools

  • Mini'imah Shaheed, Chief Executive Officer, KIPP Metro Atlanta Schools

  • Aneesh Sohoni, Chief Executive Officer, One Million Degrees

  • Elsie Urueta Pollock, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Tulsa Honor Academy

  • Dionel Waters, Executive Director, IDEA Public Schools - Tarrant County Region

To access bios and photos of the Pahara Fellows, click here.

For more information please contact

About the Pahara Institute

The Pahara Institute seeks to strengthen the movement for educational excellence and equity by developing and sustaining values-driven leaders. The guiding principle of the Pahara Institute is that bold improvements are needed in our public schools so that every child in America is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life. Pahara’s programs are designed to identify leaders in education innovation, and through a time-tested dialogue approach, strengthen and sustain their efforts to bring about critical improvements to our public schools. For more information, please visit


bottom of page