top of page




Pahara Announces New Class of Leaders for The Pahara Fellowship

(December 14, 2023) - The Pahara Institute announced today a new cohort of the highly selective Pahara Fellowship. These 23 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to strengthen and sustain values-driven leaders who are transforming public education so that every child is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life.

The Pahara Fellowship is a one-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public education, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The newest cohort of Pahara Fellows includes:

  • Vincena Allen, Chief Growth Officer, The SEED Foundation

  • Priscilla Aquino Garza, Senior Director of Programs, Educate Texas

  • David Baiz, Executive Director of Programs, The Leadership Academy

  • Candice Bobo, Executive Director, Rocketship Public Schools

  • Nate Breitling, Co-Founder and Senior Vice President of University Partnerships, NewUni

  • Robert Clark, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Opportunity Youth Network

  • Amanda Cox, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Future Public School

  • Carrie Douglass, Co-Founder and Co-Chief Executive Officer, School Board Partners

  • Victor Evans, Executive Director, Tennessee Campaign for Achievement Now (TennesseeCAN)

  • Layne Fisher, Chief Operating Officer, IDEA Public Schools

  • Emmanuel George, Regional Superintendent, Democracy Prep Public Schools New York

  • Charles Hokanson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hokanson Consulting Group LLC

  • Terence Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, Caliber Public Schools

  • Nancy Lue, Senior Director of K-12 Education, Valhalla Foundation

  • Heather McManus, Chief People Officer, NewSchools Venture Fund

  • Matt Montaño, Superintendent, Bernalillo Public Schools

  • Ruben Morris, Chief Executive Officer, Alabama Aerospace & Aviation High School

  • Sonia Park, Executive Director, Diverse Charter Schools Coalition

  • Margeaux Randolph, Co-Founder, Kr8 Ventures

  • Jen Stern, Chief Executive Officer, Great MN Schools

  • Elaine Utin, Executive Director and Co-Founder, LatinxEd

  • Sarah White, Executive Director, South Dakota Education Equity Coalition

  • Jen Wickens, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Seminar

To access bios and photos of the Pahara Fellows, click here.

For more information please contact

About the Pahara Institute

The Pahara Institute seeks to strengthen the movement for educational excellence and equity by developing and sustaining values-driven leaders. The guiding principle of the Pahara Institute is that bold improvements are needed in our public schools so that every child in America is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life. Pahara’s programs are designed to identify leaders in education innovation, and through a time-tested dialogue approach, strengthen and sustain their efforts to bring about critical improvements to our public schools. For more information, please visit


bottom of page