top of page




Pahara Announces New Class of Leaders for The Pahara Fellowship

(March 23, 2023) - The Pahara Institute announced today a new cohort of the highly selective Pahara Fellowship. These 23 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to strengthen and sustain values-driven leaders who are transforming public education so that every child is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life.

The Pahara Fellowship is a one-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public education, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The March 2023 Pahara Fellows are:

  • Chris Alejano, K-12/Postsecondary Divison Director, City of Seattle Department of Education and Early Learning

  • Melanie Askew Clark, Founder and Executive Director, Élan Academy Charter School

  • Jaqlyn Baldwin, Executive Director, Siembra Leadership High School

  • Tyler Barnett, Chief Executive Officer, New Schools for Alabama

  • Quintin Boyce, Superintendent, Roosevelt School District

  • Thomas Clark, Chief Advancement Officer, KIPP DC Public Schools

  • Kecia Clark, Managing Director, Uplift Education

  • Betsy Delgado, Chief Mission and Education Officer and Senior Vice President, Goodwill Education Initiatives

  • Riyaz Gayasaddin, Vice President of Program and Talent, Camelback Ventures

  • Freddy Gonzales, Head of Transcend Institute, Transcend

  • Antonio Gutierrez, Co-Founder and Chief of Marketing and Communications, Saga Education

  • Katherine Haley, Founder and Partner, Oak Rose Group, LLC

  • Myetie Hamilton, Senior Vice President and Executive Director, City Year Chicago

  • Amanda J. A. Johnson, Executive Director, Clarksdale Collegiate

  • Myrialis King, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Community Academies of New Orleans

  • Amy Kiyota, Co-Chief Executive Officer, Impact Public Schools

  • Derek Mitchell, Chief Executive Officer, Partners in School Innovation

  • Christine Nelson, Chief of Schools, DSST Public Schools

  • Feliza I. Ortiz-Licon, Chief of Staff, New Teacher Center

  • Jabali Sawicki, Compass Director, nXu

  • Melissa Sawyer, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Youth Empowerment Project

  • Naomi N. Shelton, Chief Executive Officer, National Charter Collaborative

  • Caitrin Wright, Managing Partner, Silicon Schools Fund

To access bios and photos of the Pahara Fellows, click here.

For more information please contact

About the Pahara Institute

The Pahara Institute seeks to strengthen the movement for educational excellence and equity by developing and sustaining values-driven leaders. The guiding principle of the Pahara Institute is that bold improvements are needed in our public schools so that every child in America is prepared to lead a free and fulfilling life. Pahara’s programs are designed to identify leaders in education innovation, and through a time-tested dialogue approach, strengthen and sustain their efforts to bring about critical improvements to our public schools. For more information, please visit


bottom of page