top of page




Pahara Announces New Class of Leaders for The Pahara Fellowship

(March 4, 2022) - The Pahara Institute announced today a new cohort of the highly selective Pahara Fellowship. These 22 individuals join the Pahara community of leaders, which is designed to support and challenge values-driven and innovative leaders who are reimagining public education, so that every child in America has the opportunity to lead a free and meaningful life.

The Pahara Fellowship is a one-year, cohort-based program that identifies exceptional leaders in the educational excellence and equity movement, facilitates their dynamic growth, and strengthens their collective efforts to dramatically improve public education, especially those serving low-income children and communities. The Fellowship provides these leaders with the unusual opportunity to step back from their demanding daily work to reflect with peers on their collective and individual impact as leaders and change agents. Fellows challenge each other to think beyond traditional silos and sector boundaries to develop strategies that enhance their effectiveness as leaders, address leadership challenges in public education, and accelerate the improvements needed to provide high-quality learning opportunities for all of our nation’s children.

The newest cohort of Pahara Fellows are:

  • Raymond Ankrum, Superintendent, Riverhead Charter School

  • Amber Arellano, Executive Director, Education Trust - Midwest

  • Kayla Begay, Director of Learning and Development, Dził Ditł’ooí School of Empowerment, Action & Perseverance

  • Graham Browne, Founder and Executive Director, Forte Preparatory Academy

  • Tequilla Brownie, Chief Executive Officer, The New Teacher Project (TNTP)

  • Steven Colón, Chief Executive Officer, Bottom Line

  • Scott Day, Senior Strategic Advisor, The City Fund

  • Traci Dove, Senior Vice President, Pahara Institute

  • Donald Fennoy II, Former Superintendent of Schools, School District of Palm Beach County

  • Laura Furlong, Chief Executive Officer, Citizens of the World Charter Schools

  • Bibb Hubbard, Founder and President, Learning Heroes

  • Tim Hudson, Chief Learning Officer, DreamBox Learning

  • Meredith Liu, Co-Founder, The Primary School

  • Tulaine Montgomery, Co-Chief Executive Officer, New Profit

  • Daniella Morello, Chief External Affairs Officer, STRIVE Prep

  • Sue Park, Head of School, Yu Ming Charter School

  • K. Chase Patterson, Chief Executive Officer, The Urban Academy of Greater Pittsburgh

  • Christopher Perpich, Chief Academic Officer, BRICK Education Network

  • Beth Purvis, Senior Program Director, Kern Family Foundation

  • Julia Rafal-Baer, Managing Partner, ILO Group

  • Felix Ruano, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Emile Learning

  • Matthew Wunder, Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent, Da Vinci Schools

To access bios and photos of the Pahara Fellows, click here.

For more information please contact

About the Pahara Institute

The Pahara Institute seeks to strengthen the movement for educational excellence and equity by developing and sustaining high-integrity, values-driven leaders. The guiding principle of the Pahara Institute is that bold improvements are needed in our public schools so that every child in America has access to the tools and skills they need to be successful in life. Pahara’s programs are designed to identify leaders in education innovation, and through a time-tested dialogue approach, strengthen and sustain their efforts to bring about critical improvements to our public schools. For more information, please visit


bottom of page